Fischer’s Take On The Big Apple

In May a combined group of students and parents traveled to New York city for five days of fun and adventure. I went to see six different broadway shows that were all excellent in their own unique ways. One of my favorite shows I saw was “Kinky Boots.” It had a wonderful message about being who you are and not letting others tell you who to be. The music was also phenomenal and I recommend to any fan of show tunes to check this musical out once it’s CD hits shelves. The other shows I saw were Newsies, Pippin, Les Miserables, Once, and Cinderella. All were excellent and I recommend if you are to ever be in New York to try and see at least one broadway show. The experience is worth the pricey tickets.

A newer site in New York is the 9/11 memorial. I must say the architecture of the waterfalls at ground zero is so beautiful and definitely present a powerful message. I was very happy that I got to witness a somber yet beautiful memorial for those who passed on that tragic day.

A must see in New York is the Metropolitan Museum of Art. That museum was probably the coolest thing I saw on that trip. From priceless Van Gogh paintings to ancient artifacts, that place has it all. Another museum we went to was the Museum of Modern Art. I really soaked all of the famous art in. Seeing the Picassos, Van Goghs, Kahlos, Monets, and Warhols was heaven to a person like myself who adores famous artwork. There were definitely some very odd exhibits at MoMA but seeing the famous stuff was worth walking through the weird stuff.

Other attractions we visited were Rockefeller Plaza, Times Square, Chinatown, Little Italy, Grand Central Station, and the High Line. I adored the High Line so much because it was so refreshing to see a railroad track recycled into a garden in such an industrial city.

I would for sure recommend any of these places to visit if you were to ever visit New York. There are of course countless other things to see and do whilst in New York, and always remember to be in the moment because you don’t want to miss out on an opportunity to take a photo with a celebrity because you were too busy on the phone!

Review/Photo by Brianna Fischer10348628_739286906123637_4877044905091291780_n-1-1

Leave a comment